Skip to main content

UF/IFAS Human Resources, Diversity and Inclusion

UF/IFAS Human Resources, Diversity and Inclusion

IFAS Diversity & Inclusion

Committee

The University of Florida is committed to creating a community that reflects the rich racial, cultural and ethnic diversity of the state and nation. Towards this end, the Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences at the University of Florida is committed to providing a welcoming and respectful environment for all students and employees.

NameTitleDepartmentEmail
Benita Bannis Ast Director, IST Research bbannis@ufl.edu
Denise Bogart Director IFAS Human Resources dbogart@ufl.edu
John Diaz Assistant Professor Ag Ed & Communication john.diaz@ufl.edu
Keith Diem Professor;Ext. Specialist FYCS; Diversity and Inclusion keithdiem@ufl.edu
Peter Digennaro Assistant Professor Entomology & Nematology pdigennaro@ufl.edu
Lisa Farina Clinical Assoc. Professor Vet Med farinal@ufl.edu
Tamiko M. Gaines McKnight Doctoral Fellow Ag Ed & Communication tamiko.gaines@ufl.edu
Megan Henson Admin Support Assistant I Office of the Dean for Extension mela.13613@ufl.edu
Davie Kadyampakeni Asst Professor CREC Horticulture dkadyampakeni@ufl.edu
Dail Laughinghouse Ast Professor FLREC-Ft Lauderdale hlaughinghouse@ufl.edu
Dana LeCuyer HR Specialist III IFAS Human Resources dlecuyer@ufl.edu
Megan Mann County Extension Director & Extension Agent II Lake County horsygrl@ufl.edu
Heather McAuslane Professor; Assistant Dean CALS Dean's Office hjmca@ufl.edu
Naim Montazeri Assistant Professor FSHN nmontazeri@ufl.edu
Nancy Moore Extension Agent III 4-H Hernando nmoores@ufl.edu
Michael Olexa Professor; Center Director FRE olexa@ufl.edu
Britta Osborne Biology Advisor II CALS Dean's  Office bosborne@ufl.edu
Eva Pabon Extension Agent 1 REC--Osceola epabon5@ufl.edu
AJ Reisinger Assistant Professor SWS; Urban Soil & Water Quality reisingera@ufl.edu
Grady Roberts Professor Ag Ed & Communication groberts@ufl.edu
Diane Rowland Professor and Chair Agronomy dlrowland@ufl.edu
C.C. Suarez Assistant Professor Ag Ed & Communication suarez@ufl.edu
Laura Valencia Extension Agent I Osceola County lauraval@ufl.edu
Saddie Vela PhD Student  Plant Molecular and Cellular Biology  saddievela@ufl.edu

The Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Group, facilitated by the Director of IFAS Human Resources, brings leadership to the IFAS diversity initiatives.
The committee has a three-part mission:
1) meeting the objectives initiated by the UF Diversity Officer,
2) enhancing cultural competency in IFAS, and
3) promoting efforts to understand and enhance equity through teaching, research and extension

The committee consists of a cross section of respective areas of IFAS and members were nominated by IFAS Deans.

The Committee is charged to accomplish the following objectives:

  • Develop and maintain an effective ongoing employee educational program designed to foster and ensure a welcoming, respectful, and inclusive environment for all.
  • Assess IFAS efforts focused on diversity and recommendations for development to meet the diverse needs of the University’s students and faculty.
  • Assess recruitment and employment and development policies and practices.
  • Plan and participate in programs highlighting IFAS’s commitment to diversity such as speakers, exhibits, presentations, and campus initiatives.
  • Collaborate and liaise with appropriate units on campus, such as the Disability Resource CenterMulticultural and Diversity AffairsUF Office of Graduate Diversity Initiatives, Multicultural Student Organizations, International Student ServicesOffice of Veteran Affairs, the Office of Institutional Equity and Diversity, and UF Training and Organizational Development.
  • Publicize IFAS ‘s diversity efforts through use of collateral material, such as, posters, banners, and bookmarks.
  • Maintain a Web presence.
  • Develop an Annual Action Plan in collaboration with Administration